Shepko Family Farm

Contact information
Farm Address:
66 N Union St
Plainfield, Massachusetts, 01070

Primary Contact: Whitney
Secondary Contact: Rob

Primary Phone:
    Number: 510-414-8993

Secondary Phone
    Number: 413-695-5715


Internship information
General Farm Description: We are in the building stages of creating a small homestead. We are a busy family of four. We have chickens and gardens and lots of plans and dreams. This year's big projects are designing and building 1 acre of permanent garden beds and setting up a small farm/road side stand. If possible, we will also be installing solar this year to be able to be fully off grid (eventually). We live on a 67 acre property in a small town in the Berkshires of Western Massachusetts. There is fantastic hiking, biking and swimming holes galore in our area. This is a rural area so a reliable vehicle is necessary.

CRAFT Member Farm? No

Internship Starts: May, 2021
Internship Ends: Nov, 2021 but flexible
Number of Internship Available: 1 (or a couple/friends due to nature of living space)
Application Deadline: rolling
Minimum Length of Stay: 1 month

Internship Details:

We would like to find someone who is handy and easy going. We have a walk-out basement apartment with a half bath and a kitchenette space that would be yours. In exchange for room and some board, we would ask for 10 hours per week of help. Help could look like cutting and stacking wood, mowing, weeding, building rock walls, indoor carpentry, yard pick up, feeding chickens, etc. Any more then 10 hours, we would pay an hourly rate of $10-12 dollars per hour. Weekly tasks would be discussed and agreed upon on Sunday evenings.

You would need your own vehicle and could easily have another job in the area for cash. We would be happy to feed you when we are home and cooking. Otherwise, meals would be your own responsibility. Rob and I both have off farm, full time jobs so trustworthiness is essential. References are required.

This would be an exciting learning opportunity for someone who would enjoy being part of our family (with plenty your own time and space, of course). Our daughter’s are gregarious and friendly, so please enjoy hanging out with kids. I grow and make herbal medicine and teas, just for family and friends and could teach you about wildcrafting, fermenting foods, canning, etc. There is plenty of space here for you to take on your own projects as well… bees? your own garden space? We are looking for a seasonal situation but for the right person/s this could be ongoing.

Educational Opportunities: You would leave here with a great understanding of what it takes to build a homestead (no easy task!). We would provide a NOFA summer conference ticket if it is happening this year. There are many farms in the area that you could visit and we could help facilitate that.

Skills Desired: Self-directed, trustworthy, hard worker, problem solver, excellent communicator

Meals: Dinner 3-5 nights per week

Stipend: $10-12 per hour after 10 hours per week

Housing: Yes, large studio apartment with kitchenette and half bath.

Preferred method of Contact: cell or email