Loading Events

« All Events

Great Lakes Restoration Initiative

August 20

EPA Region 5 announced that state agencies, interstate agencies, federally recognized Indian tribes and tribal organizations, local governments, institutions of higher learning, and non-profit organizations are eligible to apply for the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative (GLRI) grants in three categories. These are green infrastructure in shoreline communities, riparian restoration to reduce runoff, and legacy phosphorus in agricultural settings. In addition to natural streambank restoration techniques, eligible riparian projects may include vegetated buffers, constructed wetlands, and two-stage ditches. Legacy phosphorus projects should target heavily fertilized areas and use natural or engineered groundwater structures such as wetlands, floodplains, and two-stage ditches.
Applications must be submitted by August 20, 2021.


August 20
Event Category: