Leopold Conservation Awards Announced in Several States

The recipients of this year’s Leopold Conservation Awards were recently announced in Wisconsin, New England, Utah, Kansas, Missouri, Maryland, California, and—for the first time—Iowa. The award is given in 24 states in honor of renowned conservationist Aldo Leopold by Sand County Foundation and national sponsor American Farmland Trust, in collaboration with state-level sponsors. The $10,000 award recognizes agricultural landowners who inspire others with their dedication to ethical land, water and wildlife habitat management. The Sand County Foundation has also announced that the award program will be expanding to include Illinois. Several other states are currently accepting nominations for the 2023 award.