Six Additional FSA Urban Ag Committees to Request Nominations

USDA announced six additional locations for Farm Service Agency (FSA) county committees focused exclusively on urban agriculture: Atlanta, Dallas, Minneapolis-St. Paul, New Orleans, Phoenix, and St. Louis. These new urban agriculture committees will join the ones in Albuquerque, Cleveland, Philadelphia, Portland (Oregon), and Richmond (Virginia) that were formed earlier this year as directed by the 2018 Farm Bill. The urban and suburban county committees will work to encourage and promote urban, indoor, and other emerging agricultural production practices. Additionally, the new county committees may address areas such as food access, community engagement, support of local activities to promote, and encourage community compost and food waste reduction. FSA will begin accepting nominations for urban and suburban county committee members in June 2021. Urban farmers who participate or cooperate in an FSA program in the county selected may either be nominated or may nominate themselves or others as candidates by August 2, 2021.